Maintained Electric…

I have always been fascinated by engineering and electronic junk.  What’s more is that I have ALWAYS been a tinkerer… I was always taking stuff apart as a kid and I still do to this day.  Sometimes to see how it works, sometimes to see if I can copy it, and other times to see if I could repair something rather than throw it away (don’t get me started on how much I abhor our throw-away culture!).  I was even a bio-engineering major in college originally, but math and I didn’t quite see eye to eye.

I decided recently to see if I could manufacture a maintained electric switch for my tattoo setup.  I had read a blog written by Markus Lenhard on Tattoo Artist Magazine’s AMAZING blog not too long ago about the negatives of using the typical maintained foot switch (also check out this blog written by Durb Morrison on the side-effects he has sustained as a result of tattooing).  Both blogs were enough to make me really think about ergonomics and what I could do to improve tattooist health for myself and my friends.

Below are photographs of the results.  It works amazingly.

 

I am currently drafting up a tabletop design of a maintained switch for my friend (and one of my biggest influences) Ryan Speed.  Once I get that all finished up, I will be sure to post pictures of that as well.

Thanks for stopping by!

 

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new Barbarino goodness!

    Join 931 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 931 other followers