Maybeline, Why Can’t You Be True…

So this is kind of art, kind of not art.  In either case, I figure it’s my blog, so I will share it anyways ;)

Here’s what’s been taking up some of my time this summer, and I finally finished it up and got it out on the road.  It’s a 1962 (maybe 1961) Firestone Speed Cruiser.  I got it as restored as I possibly could, short of trying to duplicate the coulors and repaint it… I decided that I didn’t want that misery in my life ;) beyond that, there’s something cool about having EVERYTHING be original parts and paint.

It was my mom’s from when she was a kid… I think it’s pretty rare nowadays to get something that is vintage that has only had one previous owner.  In our throw-away society, it seems even more rare that these classic items exist.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oh, and I named her Maybeline, one of my favorite Chuck Berry tunes :)

Thanks for stopping by!

2 Comments

  1. Wonderful story and super bike!

    • Thank you and thank you!!!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new Barbarino goodness!

    Join 929 other followers